Mater Carmeli School is  administered by the Carmelite Missionaries, a congregation  of women founded on  February 1861 in Barcelona,  Spain through a unique  experience of the mystery of  the Church by the Discalced  Carmelite Priest, Fr.   Francisco Palau y Quer. Fr.  Palau was beatified by Pope  John Paul II on April 24,  1988.

At present, Carmelite  Missionaries of different  nationalities spread all over  Africa, Asia, Europe, and  South America. These  zealous daughters of Blessed Francisco Palau have  widened their tents in 36  countries to answer the call  and the challenge to go “Ad  Gentes”, to share the Good  News to other nations. They  bring the message of hope  and love to the world of today  through Christian education,  healthcare, socio-pastoral  work, campus and youth  ministry, guidance and  counseling, promotion of  spiritual life, care of children  and the handicapped,  catechesis and missions. The Spanish Carmelite  Missionaries came to the  Philippines in 1956 to expand  their apostolate starting in  Iloilo. In the summer of 1960,  they took control of St.  Joseph Kindergarten School  located at 272 D. Tuazon  Avenue, Quezon City. At that  time, the school was  administered by a group of  catechists under Sr. Fatima  and supported by Mrs.  Mariquit Lopez, wife of former Vice-President Fernando  Lopez. The civic-minded members of the community  have helped in its expansion. In line with its expansion  program, a permit for the  conversion of St. Joseph  Kindergarten School to  Elementary School was  obtained with the assistance  of Atty. Angelita Chipeco. Mr.  Anselmo Aguiling, a civic  leader in the community,  initiated the solicitation of  funds from generous  benefactors of the school that were used for the construction of a one storey  building.

In June of 1960, Carmelite  Missionary sisters administered the school with  Sr. Natividad  Martinez, CM as  the Directress and Sr.   Lourdes Antonia Andres, CM  as the School Principal. The   school began with forty five   pupils in kindergarten under   Sr. Lucy Antoja, CM;  eighteen  in grade I with Sr.   Ma. Dolores S. Buot, CM;  and  seven in Grade II under   Sr. Lourdes Antonia Andres,   CM.

On August 11, 1960, the  Regional Superintendent of  the Department of Education  Culture and Sports (DECS)  approved the change of the  school’s name into “Escuela  de Nuestra Señora de  Lourdes”. It gained  Government Recognition no.  276 on June 12, 1961, by the  school year, 1962-1963 with  Sr. Aurora Prado Biurrum, CM  as the Directress.



The Mater Carmeli Schools are “small churches,” inspired by
the “Escuela de la Virtud” of Blessed Francisco Palau,
committed to form authentic Christians, responsible citizens
and stewards of God’s creation through holistic education.


ADDRESS: 288-290 D. Tuazon Avenue, Quezon City
CONTACT NO.:  8366-81-64
                               0995 3434 260
                               0968 2290 558
FB: Mater Carmeli D. Tuazon